Link UP Week: Delightfully Inspiring Thursday

link up week

The 2nd of today’s link up comes from a blog that I recently {and happily} stumbled upon called Delightful Order.

It’s a pretty basic link up, with tons of ‘delightfully inspiring’ shared projects. The host, DaNita focuses on four key lifestyle tips: Simplify, Create, Organize, Decorate. Sounds great to me! Be sure you pay her a visit and join in the link party by sharing anything related to decorating, crafting, party planning, gift ideas, organizing, or recipes!

This is a quick little project I did a while back when we moved our office out of our bedroom and into the corner of our living room. I have very little space for all of my craft and Etsy materials so I needed to improvise and create storage where there wasn’t any. I had just purchased a number of spools of ribbon and wanted an easy way to access them that wouldn’t leave me with a big box of tangled tentacles. I decided to make a hanging ‘spool spinner’ on the inside of my cabinet door.

What you’ll need:

  • ribbon {duh}
  • small dowel rods {or something sturdy that will fit through the center hole of your spool}
  • twine or rope {ribbon will also work but I didn’t want to have a ribbon overload}
  • craft glue
  • adhesive-backed hooks

What I did:

I first decided how low I wanted the ribbon to hang by measuring out my twine – which will be the main support for the spinner. I then doubled it over and made a loop knot so that I could secure it onto the end of the dowel rod. Then tightened and secured with craft glue.

DSC_0003

Once the glue dried I slid the ribbon onto the dowel, allowing the twine knot to act as a stopper. * I found it easier to make sure the ribbon is all facing the same direction, and hanging down from the front of the spool so it’s easy to pull down and measure out.

I did end up having to shorten the dowel which was pretty easy. Just be sure {if you need to do the same} you sand off the ends so it’s smooth.
With the free end of the twine I made a simple bow on the opposite end of the dowel, closing in the ribbon. Be sure it’s tight but don’t secure this side with glue so it can be removed to change out ribbon in the future.

DSC_0008

Your twine should make a triangle above the ribbon, from which you can easily hang wherever you need. I used adhesive-backed hooks on the interior of my cabinet doors.

Hang and you’re done!

DSC_0010

TA-DA. Simple and sweet. Just the way I like it!

Join the Delightfully Inspiring Thursday link up and be sure to hop around the other party participants to see some great new blogs and projects!

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

