My Dolphin Friend

Some of you may not know, but my hubs works at the Georgia Aquarium as a performer in their Dolphin Tales show. No, he doesn’t swim with dolphins. No, he’s not actually a dolphin himself. No, he never actually touches the water – unless you count the splashes the dolphins shoot at him trying to get his attention. YES, he uses his gorgeous voice to narrate the show in melodious majesty! If you are ever up for an aquarium visit, be sure you see the show. It’s great for kids and you’ll probably end up feeling like one yourself!

So about a week ago Keelin and I went with Z to work for two major reasons. 1. So Keelin could see her daddy in the show {which she loved btw.} 2. To participate in a “Dolphin Interaction” .

Let me lay out this “Dolphin Interaction” for you real quick. We {all three of us} got to go behind the scenes of the Dolphin Tales show and INTERACT with one of the dolphins! Touch them, give commands for behaviors, play ball, etc. Now, hubs and I never got a honeymoon {accepting donations} so we don’t have photos of water splashing up our noses as we hang on to the dorsal fin of a swimming dolphin in some beautifully tropical and touristy location. Zip. Zilch. Nada.
But, now thanks to Z’s job and the fantastic trainers at the Georgia Aquarium, we do have these… Everyone, I’d like you to meet Lily!

We had a wonderful time and yes, my face in the photo holding Lily’s lateral fins explains my feeling the whole time. Giddy, giddy, giddy. Keelin was a little skeptical at first and wasn’t a huge fan of being that close to the pool but she was fascinated by Lily! Every time she would get close to us Keelin would say, “Oohhhh” and point. Adorable. Honestly this kid has one charmed life… just over a year old and she’s touched a dolphin. I couldn’t have asked for a better day spending time with my sweet family. We snapped many more pictures around the aquarium but far too many to post in one blog! I’ll try to share some later and will put a few favorites on Facebookย {do you like my page… cause you should}!

Have you ever done one of the touristy dolphin interactions while on vacation? Were you giddy like a child?

Until next time…

10 thoughts on “My Dolphin Friend

  1. I’m so jealous! We took Ellie and Macy to the Dolphin Show over the summer and I was seriously in tears the whole time. Happy tears! Dolphins are the absolutely incredible animals. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. My daughter and I went to Discovery Cove in Florida to celebrate her 16th birthday together. We did the dolphin swim, and I LOVED it! I will never forget it. They certainly don’t feel like I expected them to. If you ever get the chance to go, it is an amazing place. The stingrays were awesome too.

Leave a Reply

