FOURTY-SEVENsie + FOURTY-EIGHTsie

Yes, it’s a double dose of onesie goodness since I was without a computer for the majority of the last week and a half. Brace yourselves, most people can only handle the cuteness power of one onesie photo… I’m not sure what kind of effect TWO will have on my readers.

Talk about a sweetie!

Obviously the 47 week photo comes to you from TURKEY DAY! I thought I would change things up a bit and use a hat instead of a bow that week. Ok, I cannot tell a lie, I forgot a bow. BUT, I did want to show off my first hat knitting success! Yes, I have progressed from a knitting career of scarves {straight lines} to hats! My MIL helped me find my rhythm again and taught me a few tricks of the trade which made making this little beauty not only a blast but a breeze {after re-starting it about 4 times… but oh well}. And while I am totally in love with the Rastafarian dreadlock look {pointed out by my sweet hubby}, I have to admit the hat wasn’t originally going to look the way it turned out. As I as finishing things up I noticed there was a big hole in the top of the hat where the edges didn’t meet. So, tapping into my stash of brilliant ideas I decided to turn a gaping hole into a mop-top and voila! Knitting genius. I love it. Keelin loves it {when she’s not trying to pull it off}. And the whole family seemed to love it! Needless to say I  immediately started on another hat which is a few stitches away from being finished.

But enough about knitting… onto the Thanksgiving recap! It was a jam-packed week with far too much to talk about {I’m saving all of my NYC stories for a different post, b.t.dubs} but here are the spark notes. Before hitting the farm I was able to swing by my dear friend Layna’s house and meet her 6 week old baby boy, Ezra. What a cutie. I felt very special that he let me hold him both asleep and awake, without crying. He’s been a bit “attached” to mommy lately so I was half expecting him to start wailing as soon as I got a hold of him but it was like he knew exactly who I was. Layna has dubbed me Aunt Pancake {after Aunt Sara’s Pancake house} and I love the title. He’s the cutest thing and is so lucky to have such great parents. Mama looks stunning, as to be expected, and I was so thankful we got to visit and catch up. It’s been too long but I’m STOKED that we get to see them again in a few weeks! here in GA! WOOT

We had a wonderful time with PERFECT WEATHER up in Va. Z’s side of the family came for turkey day, we ate way too much, played a rousing game of Flickin’ Chicken, and even got an impromptu visit from my parents on their way back from visiting my brother, sister-in-law, and sweet nephew in LA. They got off the RED EYE flight and drove to have a quick visit before heading home. I’m so blessed to have such amazing parents. The whole week was a huge success sans a small incident with the dogs. You may remember way back when I was preggs that Z’s cousin Sarah came to visit with her mammoth dog Remus. You also may remember that despite being 4X smaller than their cousin, the Bostons attacked poor Remus and were quarantined to the cage for the entirety of Sarah’s visit. Well, we assumed the attack happened as a result of the Bostons being territorial, since Remus was on ‘their turf”. Turns out my dogs are just big jerks because as soon as Remus hopped out of the car at the farm, the chaos began. Pigs {aka “The Train”} went into attack mode and his idiot brother Buster followed suit. After a rousing game of ring-around-the-Prius and a pitiful yelp from the giant Wolfhound, we were left with a bloody ear, a bite on the belly, and ONCE AGAIN two quarantined Bostons. Seriously hate those dogs sometimes. The remainder of their visit I was secretly hoping they would wonder into the woods and ‘get lost’. Yes, I was pissed. Yes, I had to resist the urge to punt them across the farm. Please don’t call PETA. So, despite the blood lust of my dogs, it was a wonderful Thanksgiving. So much to be thankful for and a wonderful reminder of all we are blessed with.

And now to 48 weeks!

 

She said WHAAAAAT?

I can’t get enough of this little girl! Yesterday we celebrated Keelin turning 11 months old which was totally nuts because it made me realize that in another month we will have a 1-year old. How did that happen? No, seriously. It feels like we just got home from the hospital, so where did the year go?

I filled you in during the 46 week update that crawling has become a thing of the past in our house and that is even more so these days, except now the SPEED as set in. Z and I were cracking up last night as Keelin came tearing around the side of the couch with her wide-stepping strut and arms up in the air. It’s adorable. She’s like a tiny chimpanzee. I love it. I’m not sure how I will every REALLY punish this adorable, adorable child but I’m sure I’ll be eating my words one day when she knocks my favorite vase off the table, dumps an entire plate of food onto the floor, or decorates our living room walls with permanent markers. But for now… I’m fine with her being ridiculously adorable.

Speaking of adorable, I never knew pouting could be so cute. A few days ago Z picked Keelin up to get her away from something she wasn’t supposed to be messing with {because “no” is still funny} and the second he sat her down in a “safe zone” she looked right at him, stuck out her bottom lip, gave a solid lip quiver, a tiny fuss, and batted some very convincing puppy dog eyes. It was like something out of a cartoon. Well done daughter of mine, well done. It didn’t work, in fact it made us laugh, but valiant attempt!

Let’s see… what are some other updates. Oh, everything is ‘dada’. Z is ‘dada’, as he should be, but I’m also ‘dada’, the dogs are dada {although I think she’s actually trying to say ‘doggie’ for them} her reflection is ‘dada’, her food is ‘dada’, and the humidifier in her nursery is ‘dada’. EVERYTHING is ‘dada’. Z says she says ‘dada’ for all the things she loves, which is a very sneaky way of gloating if you ask me. She will call me ‘mama’ when she really thinks about it, or is prompted, and it’s still that motor-type mmmmmmma ma ma ma ma, but for the most part, the whole world is ‘dada’. I don’t mind because, again, it’s cute.

We are still finding discarded socks all over the house, loving bath time {sans a random FREAK OUT last week when she suddenly became deathly afraid of the water… what’s up with that}, staying on our toes, and wondering how in the world any parent can TRULY baby-proof their home. Seriously I feel like whenever I move something out of her reach I look over my shoulder and she’s found something else that makes my heart jump. My inner monologue is continuously saying “keep the kid alive, keep the kid a live, whatever you do just keep the kid alive”.

Alright… if I write any more I’m going to start losing some of you, if I haven’t already. Darn my rambling brain.

MANY updates on the way including my NYC trip, current work struggles, Christmas plans, DIY fun and more! It’s a busy time of year… bring it on!

OH and CONGRATS to Melanie from Career Desires to Bottles and Diapers for winning the Appliqué Christmas Towels from Thread Creations. More giveaways to come!

Until next time…

6 thoughts on “FOURTY-SEVENsie + FOURTY-EIGHTsie

  1. Seriously…you are such a fab mom and I love every second of Keelin’s weekly posts! I almost use it as a little preview, since Landon is 6 weeks behind her. I can’t believe she will be 1 soon. I can’t wait to hear all of the fun details you have for her 1st birthday. Knowing you, you have some AMAZING things cooked up!!
    Thanks for hosting the giveaway! I’m so excited I won! I can’t wait to receive the hand towels.
    I’m glad you guys had such a great Thanksgiving. I can’t wait to read what you have in store for your readers next!
    Lots of love
    xoxo

    • You’re the best hun! And yes, before you know it it will be Landon’d turn to have a party. Hoping I can stay sane enough in these next weeks to pull off a party, we shall see! SO MUCH GOING ON and lots to think about with work and what not.

Leave a Reply

