Lets get political, political

*Disclaimer* I tried to put this in to a cohesive ‘discussion’ type structure but with every new comment my brain would add another one to the list so I decided to just ramble. Welcome to my word vomit. I hope you brought a poncho.

I’m not one to get into politics because, quite frankly, they annoy me. Just ask the hubs. He and his mother are PROS at getting into passionate political debates and the last time the gauntlet was dropped I was the one who needed a drink afterwards. It just stresses me out. I try not to pay much attention to it all if I can help it {shame on me}. It’s just the way it is. But I think we can all agree that this election has stirred up enough drama, hatred, and straight up bull crap so I decided it was time I voiced {er, typed} my opinion.
Obviously the election is over so this is not about who people should or should not have selected for president. The votes were cast. A winner was selected. Congrats to him. And while I foolishly thought the political bashing on Facebook and Twitter would at least slow down once it was all over its only gotten worse. Except now we’re not just bashing the candidates, we’re bashing one another.  Note that I’m going to make a point to continuously say ‘we’ throughout my word vomit because whether you like it or not, we are all part of the same nation. And I, for one, am ashamed to be part of that ‘we’ who has let such hatred and disrespect plague this election and it’s results. Check it FELLOW AMERICANS… here’s what needs to happen.

We need to STOP calling Obama supporters idiots for voting democratic and ‘condemning the country.’

We need to STOP calling republicans idiots for voting for Romney.

We need to STOP criticizing one another for having differing religious beliefs and PLEASE stop using our ‘faith’ to trash talk. I don’t know how many statuses I’ve seen that talk about needing prayer to get us through another 4 years under Obama’s leadership. Would we need any less prayer under another leader? Have we not needed prayer in the past? If we weren’t already praying for this country, than shame on us for now using God’s love as a way to ‘trash talk’ without sounding cruel. If we so openly and vibrantly label ourselves as Christians than shouldn’t our faith in God’s plan be what will get us through the tough times ahead, regardless of who is sitting in the oval office? I’m ashamed.

We need to STOP voicing political opinions based solely on where we think other people are wrong and start owning up to what we actually think is right.

Let’s face it, we’re never going to be a unified nation. Sorry for being a curmudgeon but it’s true. “United” States of America is a load of crap because we can’t seem to accept that it’s ok to have differences in opinion. Hello… at least we’re ALLOWED a difference in opinion. Can you imagine not having that right or if everyone thought the same things all the time. What a dull and boring life that would be. So if we can’t stand together as a ‘united’ nation, we can at least accept our differences and be kind to one another.

Support whoever is in office whether we wanted them there or not.  We can’t change it now so either continue living and loving as kind, respectful individuals or accept the fact that we are going to be party-poopers for the next 4 years… and possibly more if our favorite candidate STILL doesn’t make it into the white house.

Plus I don’t know what everyone is so worried about anyway… the world is ending this year anyway and Obama can’t possibly ‘destroy’ the country that fast. 😛

Whew, I feel better letting that out. I know there are many of you out there who agree with me, and plenty who probably don’t but THAT’S OK! This is the first {and only} time I’ll invite politically specific comments on a post. Bring it on!

I wanted to leave you with one last thought, and I can’t take full credit for this because it’s actually something I adapted from a friend’s Facebook status {one of the few that was actually worth standing behind}. I will admit it came from a Romney supporter who was tired of being falsely labeled by angry Obama supporters, but I think it is something we should all remember the next time we think about placing outlandish accusations on people who are different from us!  You can pull what you want from this but hopefully it will resonate somewhere.

I believe you can be for or against a policy or idea and not be against those who disagree with you.
You can be for unborn children and not be against women.
You can be for LEGAL immigration and not be against Hispanics.
You can not be for gay marriage and not be anti-gay.
You can disagree with the current president and not be a racist.
You can believe and fight for sound economic principles and personal responsibility and not be against the poor, women, minorities, the elderly, etc., etc., etc.

Couldn’t have said it better myself.

Alright folks… bring it on. However little or much you’d like to say in regards to the recent election, let it out. Like I said at the start of this post, I don’t normally discuss politics, and you may not either, but if you’ve been itching to say SOMETHING, feel free to do it here. No judgement.

Until next time…

9 thoughts on “Lets get political, political

  1. Our pastor said that most people choose their political party based on what’s more important to them Righteousness (Conforming to a moral code of conduct prescribed by God’s Word) or Justice (To correct the injustices of society; Defending the poor and marginalized). It’s sad that the two cannot be combined. I heard someone say this: “I’m not voting for Obama because he has no morals, he approves abortion.” Someone else might say “I’m not voting Republican because they don’t care about the poor” and this goes on and on. I am too abashed by how much hatred has poured out after this election. Like you said always pray for the president and the choices he makes for our country.

    • Absolutely. Our priest made a very similar statement last Sunday, reminding us to make our decision based on the views of the Church. Another reason why we all need to just accept each other’s choices for what they are because our decisions are based on so many different things. Sadly there will never be a unanimous vote.

  2. “Plus I don’t know what everyone is so worried about anyway… the world is ending this year anyway and Obama can’t possibly ‘destroy’ the country that fast.”

    Loved, loved, loved that. And I agree with what you’re saying, obvs. The word “idiot” may not be a dirty word, but it hurts when it’s bandied around so frivolously. The energy that people put into insulting one another over their differing politics should be put towards actually working towards real change.

Leave a Reply

