Counting my blessings

I am blessed.
So extremely blessed.
I don’t say that to brag or call attention to the things that I have in life, only to call out that I recognize just how blessed I am. I have a roof over my head, food in my belly, a job that allows me to work from home, a family I wouldn’t trade for the world, a husband who is without a doubt my perfect match, friends who I am proud and privileged to know, and a beautiful, spunky, HEALTHY little girl who has totally changed my life. I have so many things to be thankful for and with Thanksgiving fast approaching, I am reminded of each and every piece and how undeserving I am that they all fit together as the puzzle pieces of my life. I tend to get a boost of appreciation this time of year, as many do, but witnessing a real miracle within the last few weeks has given me a whole new perspective on just how important it is to count your blessings each and every day.

A little more than two weeks ago the world was given a miracle. A high school friend of mine, and without a doubt one of the strongest women I know, gave birth to a very special little boy named Noah. At only 16 weeks into her pregnancy, Noah’s parents were told that he had a neural tube defect known as anencephaly, and would most likely not survive the full length of her pregnancy, let alone birth. I cannot imagine having to hear that news during what should be such a sweet and exciting time. Noah’s parents decided they would let go and let God and allow Noah to live out his live for as long as he could. He surprised all the doctors by surviving the full term of her pregnancy and on October 5, sweet Noah was born. He continued to defy the odds and not only survived the first few minutes of life {a rarity for most anencephaly babies} but he sailed past his first day and was able to go home! Two days quickly became two weeks with Noah continuing to touch the lives of so many people. God clearly had a plan for this little boy. Sadly this past Saturday was bittersweet as Noah went to be with Jesus. He passed away peacefully in his mother’s arms. What strength his parents have. I am forever in awe of their patience, faith, and complete trust in God.

His parent’s started a Facebook page to document their incredibly precious Time with Noah and it has been so touching to see how many people joined in to send prayers and well-wishes to the parents. The site was created on October 12 and has over 27,000 likes. It is incredible to see how a tiny baby boy and the strength of a family can bring so many people together in prayer.

Noah’s amazing story and his time here on earth has made me appreciate everything God has blessed me with that much more, and I know stories like his will continue to call out life’s blessings for people all over the world. I apologize for sharing such a somber story first thing on a Monday morning, but as it has been weighing heavy on my heart {and I’m struggling to see the computer screen through a pool tears}, I felt it needed to be shared. As a new mother I cannot even begin to imagine what they are going through, but know that their unbreakable faith in God will get them through this difficult time. I’d like to ask that anyone reading this send out a prayer as well. Not just a prayer for the grieving family, but a prayer of thanksgiving. I know it’s easy when things like this happen to ask “why?”, when we should really be saying thank you. What a gift it is that Noah was able to spend such precious time here with his parents, especially when they didn’t anticipate him being here for more than a few minutes, if that. Instead he was granted two weeks of pure bliss and endless blessings that touched so many lives, and for that we should absolutely be thankful.

Kiss your babies, tell your family and friends you love them, and never take anything you have for granted. Even the ‘small’ things like the ability to treat yourself to an iced coffee on the way home from work or the silly grin your daughter gives you when she knows she’s getting into trouble. Everything is a blessing. Everything. And I for one have a new appreciation for all those blessings, big and small, that fill my life with joy.

R.I.P.
Noah Andrew Muncy
October 5, 2012 – October 20, 2012

4 thoughts on “Counting my blessings

  1. I’ve seen his Facebook page and am amazed at how he defied the odds. His parents must really have needed him even for just that short bit of time. Sending prayers to his parents and their family, what a sweet boy ❤

  2. Bless his sweet heart and his family’s. I read your post this morning and was in tears and have been thinking about it all day long. Thank you so much for sharing Noah’s story. We will indeed be counting our blessing. I’ll be keeping his family in my prayers.

    • Thank you hun. His story has really stirred my heart from the moment I found out about his condition. I’m pretty sure I’ve rubbed the skin off Keelin in the past two weeks trying to soak in and appreciate every moment with her.

Leave a Reply

