EIGHTsie

Not sure what she was looking at, but she was giving it the stink eye for sure! Not sure what she was looking at, but she was giving it the stink eye for sure! not sure what she was looking at but it was definitely getting the stink eye. Perhaps she was picturing the jerk-off that broke into my cool mom mobile.

Instead of spending tons of time and text listing off all the things Keelin did this week {like meet her Godmother, sleep in her crib for the first time and sleep through the from 11:00pm to 7:00am on her second night in her crib} I thought I’d take a different spin on this week’s onesie post. Here goes nothin…

What I have learned about parenthood in the last 8 weeks:

  • Parenthood does not require a minivan.
  • A baby means daddy has one more person to blame his farts on… only now he’s actually telling the truth when I look over with accusing eyes and he points down at the bean.
  • Spit up is, in fact, an acceptable fragrance for a night out on the town. And by night out on the town I mean emergency trip to the grocery store for more diapers.
  • No matter how many times I hear it, I can never get enough of people telling me how adorable my baby is… because I know it’s true.
  • There is no shame in secretly taking an extra 10 minutes alone with my child when I “excuse” myself to breastfeed, just because I’d rather be alone with her than anywhere else.
  • Just because my baby is dressed in pink from head to toe, I shouldn’t assume a stranger would automatically know it’s a girl. Some people just don’t know obvious when it smacks them in the face.
  • There is NOTHING wrong with wanting to be a SAHM.
  • When I’m going on outfit #3 and it’s only 11:00 am, I have every right to let my child go with a onesie slightly decorated in spit up… just to avoid another “IDON’TWANTTOBECHANGED” cry-fest.
  • I don’t need an alarm clock to tell me it’s time to nurse my baby… my boobs will give me the heads up. I just try not to grab them when they “go off”.
  • I never actually shrugged off the parents that talked about never knowing they could love something so much until their child was born, but now I actually understand what they meant.
  • I should never underestimate the ability of a man to sleep through a symphony of tears. Whether it be mine or the babies, chances are he won’t hear either, but that’s ok.
  • If you are 8 weeks into being a first time parent and you haven’t looked at your unconsolable crying child and desperately asked them, “WHAT DO YOU WANT???”, you probably accidentally brought a robot baby home from the hospital.
  • Poop really isn’t as bad as I imagined it would be and blowouts are kind of hysterical.
  • A true friend doesn’t care if I pop my boob out in the middle of a conversation. An infant’s lunch time is lunch time no matter who is around.
{The following are submissions from the hubs}
  • Parenthood has inspired me to get involved in the inner workings of my community. Keelin will need other kids to play with some day after all.
  • I now know that babies can puke twice their weight.
  • Whiskey never tasted so good.
  • How little space we actually have.
  • Any parent-child relationship on TV has the ability to make me tear up at the drop of a hat.
  • Naps are more valuable than gold and silence has never been so sweet.
  • … and so much more!

Until next time…

14 thoughts on “EIGHTsie

  1. 1. Your daughter is cute.
    2. The hubs aint bad either.
    3. The fart machines are the best looking of the bunch! But I’m biased. I have my own (Boston Terrier) fart machine, and I am partial to the cute black and white short snouted, ass wagging (since they have no tail) highly gassious breed.

    Seriously though, it was a fun read. Buckle up Mama, it’s one heck of a ride!
    KP

  2. Great blog post and so very true! I am so glad you are loving motherhood! They are truly the best days of your life! Much love to you and your beautiful family!

Leave a Reply

