Guest blog: Lauren the cloth diaper slinging super-mom!

Before I had my son, Connor, I laughed at people who use cloth diapers. I guess I just had this attitude of “that’s really freaking disgusting,” and most people I talk to have that attitude as well. Whenever I tell someone that I use cloth diapers, I get the same look.

I’m telling you this because I don’t want to sound like I’m a cloth diaper guru, even though I totally am. When Connor was born, I had lots of disposables! Or so I thought. My mom sent us diapers all the time, but I knew eventually that supply would run out, and I’m constantly looking for ways to save money. That was my main reason for switching to cloths, and then I did my research. Cloth diapers are easy, they are WAY better for the environment, and they save you money. Bingo. The easy part of it caught my attention. I didn’t think it would be easy, but it really is.

I have bumGenius 4.0 cloth diapers. There are a lot of different cloth diapers out there, so it’s always good to do your research and decide which is best for you. The bumGenius diapers are amazzzzing, though. I recommend them to everyone I know. I have 22 right now, which I have gotten over time. You can collect them throughout your pregnancy, or in my case, just get 6 and go from there. I started when Connor was 4 months old, so I had to slowly collect. I ordered 6, loved them, and then my amazing mother ordered me 6 more!

So, I have 22 diapers now, and I can go at least every other day without washing. With newborns, you probably need to wash every day. Connor probably goes through between 6-8 diapers a day, and about half of those are poop! Yeah, it seems gross, but it isn’t. The way the diapers are made, make it a lot easier to clean. I rinse the diapers out, put them in the diaper pail, and voila. Transitioning from disposable to cloth wasn’t difficult for me. My husband even helps out! He’s cleaned plenty of poopy diapers. In fact, one day in church I told Adam that Connor had pooped, so he took Connor into the bathroom and changed his cloth diaper. I love telling people that story because they are amazed.  See, if my husband can do it IN PUBLIC, you know they’re good!  I did a review of them on my blog that you are welcome to check out!

About the blogger:

My name is Lauren Hill, I’m 23, originally from VA, but now I’m in the Lonestar state. My husband is a Marine, and home is wherever the Marine Corps takes us! I have an 8 month old little boy, Connor (wow, I can’t believe how fast time flies).

For now, I am a stay at home momma and wife, and I looove it!

One thought on “Guest blog: Lauren the cloth diaper slinging super-mom!

  1. Pingback: Guest Blogger: Lauren the Military Mama « Life in these times…

Leave a Reply

