Guest Blog: Leah the Law Student

I can juggle a full credit load at Law School and an internship, but this guest blogging has me stumped! I used to blog when I was living abroad and loved sharing my crazy adventures like running down the street trying to flag down an elephant for a ride, and being dressed up and invited to participate in an Indian festival on TV, and I have always wanted to get back into blogging (we all secretly want to quit our jobs and be a full-time blogger, I turn shades of green while reading about the awesome DIY adventures of Young House Love), so therefore, this entry had to be good!

Idea #1 (this is deceiving, sense originally, there was only one idea)
A Day in the Life of a Law Student
(*cue jokes about lawyers, which sadly, for the majority of the profession are true!).

This idea seemed to be golden, I could share how about my morning:

5:34 AM – Alarm goes off (naturally, it has to be an even time, getting up at an odd time would ruin the whole day, obviously)

5:35 AM – Debate about actually getting up … I *could* just go work out this evening, then fiancé and I could work out together and be all cutesy. But, no, I want to look really good in my wedding dress… but isn’t lots of sleep equally important to looking good? Maybe if I work out this afternoon it will kick-start my momentum and I’ll get up early tomorrow, that sounds like a good plan. No, must get up.

5:36 AM – Discover the DVD I want to work out to is not in the case and DVD cord is unplugged because we hooked the Macbook up to the TV last night. That seems like a lot of effort to fix…

5:27 AM – Back to Bed

I could share about walking to class:

8:30 AM – Walk to class, listening to my new “iPho.” What’s that you ask? It’s a fancy thing called an iPhone, but it’s the fiance’s old deactivated one. Some people might call that an iPod Touch… nope, it’s my “iPho.” I love listening to books, it’s my new commuting past time since three days a week I find myself on a noisy and ever-delayed regional rail trekking down to DC.

I could share about how my highlight of class time is snacktime and blog perusing time:

1:05 PM – The dreaded Income Tax Law Class. The only good thing about the class is looking forward to break time aka “snack time.” I  brought a White Chocolate Kit Kat (thanks to winning a bet against the fiancé).

1:10 PM – Danger, danger. Ate snack early. Now nothing to look forward to. I guess I’ll just pay attention and take notes.

1:12 PM – Abort. What new people can I stalk on Facebook? And look, what’s this? www.drawastickman.com. Time to check in on my blogs… some of my favorites, after of course Life in these times…, are Today’s Letters, Young House Love, Rockstar Diaries, MODG Blog, The View From Africa … and my new guilty indulgence, Suri’s Burn Book [don’t judge].

But then I decided my day probably wasn’t all that interesting to anyone except, and only at times, me.

Idea # 2
RECIPE!

I loooooove to bake and cook and bake and cook some more. But then I remember it’s finals time… aka “hell weekS.” So, unless I wanted to share my passion for Velveeta and Shells as my stress food, a recipe wasn’t going to meet the December 3rd deadline! But as a bonus, I will give you a stress food that will change your life (you’re welcome):

Eggless, Single Serve Cookie Dough:
3 tbsp flour
2 tbsp sugar
1.5 tbsp butter (I use “I can’t believe it’s not butter”… so the whole recipe is practically 0 cals…. That’s what I tell my hips at least)
1  tbsp milk
Dash of vanilla
As many chocolate chips (or in my case, white chocolate chips) as your heart desires.

Idea #3
Cute story – We have a winner!

I met my fiance thanks to a post-it note. Yes, a regular old (*disclaimer it was actually a hot pink lined post-it) post-it note. We both lived in the same apartment building–a building in which you never saw another soul in the hallways or elevators, because it was full of med students who keep odd hours! One night, I was walking home from International Law class, because my second class of the night was cancelled. As I was walking down the hallway, the door to an apartment opened up and the glorious smell of steak filled my senses! A neighbor emerged that lived across the hall, and inside the kitchen cooking was a new neighbor I had never seen before!! I made a passing comment about how great the hall smelled, and was told that it was the traditional Monday Night Steak Night. After I got to my apartment, just around the corner… I thought about the mysterious and cute neighbor and in a moment completely out of character, decided to take action! The next morning, I left a hot pink post-it note on the door of his apartment that said “Next time you have a steak party, you should invite the whole floor. -Apt 218” At first I heard nothing back… but then, two days later, I opened my door and found a yellow post-it note addressed to “Mysterious Resident of 218”!! I was informed that Steak Night was sacred, but that maybe they could make an exception for one of the residents on the floor. A few more post-it note exchanges occurred… and a week later, I was able to crash bromance night and enjoy steak with Robert, and his friend Matt. We became fast friends, finding we had a lot in common and started dating just a few months later!

Naturally, our engagement was thanks to a post-it note as well! I am next to impossible to surprise, because I’m so observant (read: nosy). So this story is pretty impressive in that, Robert managed to get me up on the roof, blindfolded, holding a brick… before I caught on. On Wednesday evening, March 16th, during Spring Break, we were having a quiet night in. We had some leftovers for dinner and were organizing to go to Ocean City for a few days. After dinner, Robert insisted we should have dessert, but I resisted (sort of), and instead whipped up some monkey bread (in hindsight, the cheesecake would have been fewer calories after I got done doctoring the monkey bread). We were sitting on the couch, and I was being secretive with my laptop, working on a special project for Robert. As a joke and to make a point, Robert grabbed one of my free airline sleepmasks so that he could sit next to me and not see my screen. In a moment of inspiration, Robert put the sleep mask on me and attempted to tickle me! Which led to an unplanned moment… a piece of broken furniture!! Robert found it hilarious (in his head thinking… oh great, how am I going to work around this) and I was upset at Robert’s insensitivity. Robert insisted that there were some bricks in the stairwell of the building that we could use as a quick fix. At this point, I still had the sleepmask pushed up into my hair… he then put the sleepmask back on me and asked if I would trust him to lead me around, like out on the street… “Um, no!” … “Okay, how about just back to your apartment?” “Fine” … but then, we leave his apartment and turn left instead of right… “Where are you taking me!” “Just to grab the bricks” … For once, I decided to just go with it and let him lead me to the stairwell since he was so keen on the idea. We get to the stairwell, open the door, and start walking up the stairs and he hands me a brick. Then we start heading up the stairs in a quest to find more bricks… (I’m not sure how I didn’t catch on)… we finally get to the roof, he claims he sees some bricks in the corner. There I am, standing on the edge of the rooftop deck, blindfolded, holding a brick with my arms splayed in front of me convinced that I am somehow on the edge of the roof (not even close). He leaves my side for a moment, and when he returns, he claims that he’s found another brick. As he removes the sleepmask, he’s standing there with a huge post-it note that says “Leah, will you marry me?” ! ! ! He gets down on one knee, and has a beautiful ring. Of course I said “YES!”

I excitedly emailed 3M with our cute-meet story (with thoughts in my head of “The Wedding of Robert and Leah” brought to you by 3M) and received just a generic form response of “Glad you are satisfied with our products.” Hmm… marrying my best friend, I’d say that’s pretty darn satisfied!

And there you go! My foray back into blogging!

ABOUT THE BLOGGER…


Leah is a third year law student and unfortunately that doesn’t leave time in life for much else! She loves baking, cooking and reading non-law school books when she gets the chance. In the midst of law school, she loves planning for her May 2012 wedding to her best friend and is enjoying all the DIY projects along the way. She was lucky enough to find “Life in  ” thanks to a link on a mutual friend’s blog she reads! After finals, in mid-December, stay tuned for Leah’s effort to start blogging again at : fallingdownthealphabet.blogspot.com and if you get really bored over the holidays, read all about her crazy adventures in India, Israel, China and Japan at themumbaiscratch.blogspot.com.

2 thoughts on “Guest Blog: Leah the Law Student

Leave a Reply

