Hump Day Bump Day – HOLY CATFISH, 30 weeks!

Happy Hump Day Bump Day lovely friends!

I can hardly believe I’m already at 30 weeks but as I’ve come to realize, I just can’t slow time down. Doc. Brown didn’t prepare me for this realization.

I do not own this image... click for where I found it!

I thought it was really strange to move from the teens to the twenties in my weekly count but it’s definitely even more surreal going from twenties to thirties! Only 10 weeks to go… AHHHH! SO exciting.

Z and I had another baby appointment on Monday and saw the ACTUAL doctor at the practice. {For those of you who are new to the blog or missed the memo, we have a FANTASTIC midwife named Diane who will be there for Keelin’s delivery and have seen her at every check up until now.} I suppose at this marker they just want to bring in the BIG GUNS and make sure everything else is on track and then I’ll be back with Diane! He said things looked great, we heard the heartbeat {beautiful and strong} and he gave me the fantastic news that I DON’T have gestational diabetes! Remember the SUPER FUN glucose test from two weeks ago? The results are in and I’m just fine! He actually said my score was on the low side and asked me if I felt okay on the day I drank the sugar juice. I laughed a little {because that shiz almost made me pass out and gave me the worst sugar crash of all time} and told him it definitely threw off my system. So…YAY for being diabetes free and YAY for another positive baby check up! I’ve truly been blessed with my pregnancy so far and pray {every day} that things continue to go smoothly!

Today’s HDBD post is a little special since I thought that, along with jib-jabbin a bit and providing the weekly stats, it would be fun to share what my “What to expect” App. says about this week… ya know, being that it’s the BIG 30 and all!

For those of you who are expecting, it’s a really fun FREE App that lets you track your progress on a daily and weekly basis and provides daily tips, notes and tricks about things you may be experiencing throughout your preggo journey. They even have cute “Tips for Dad” that your hubby might enjoy {I know Z has!}.

So, this week’s update on MY BODY says:

“Movin’ on up, your uterus can now be felt four inches above your belly button. This means that your uterus is pushing all the internal organs that used to be there somewhere else. So your stomach feels like it’s in your chest and your lungs feel like…hmmm…they don’t even feel like they’re there anymore – do they? That could explain why you’re feeling a little spare on air lately, don’t you think?

Indeed, in an effort to provide spacious-enough accommodations for your soon-to-be bouncing baby boy or GIRL, your growing uterus has compressed your lungs, limiting their ability to fully expand when you take a breath and causing you to feel like you’ve just run a marathon when you’ve only climbed a flight of stairs. While this shortness of breath during pregnancy may feel very uncomfortable to you, your baby is blissfully unaware and unaffected. Your fetus gets all the oxygen it needs through the placenta. So relax and take a deep breath (if you can). That out-of-breath feeling may get better toward the end of your pregnancy, when your baby (and it’s uterine home) drops down into your pelvis in preparation for delivery. Until then, be sure to stand as straight as you can (given the weight you’re carrying around) and sleep propped up or on your side so that your lungs have more space to… well, breathe.”

And this week’s update on THE BABY says:

“As far as growth goes, your baby’s still on a roll, measuring an impressive 18 inches and weighing in at more than three pounds. You can still expect your baby to gain at least 3-5 pounds, possibly more, before you two meet.

Your baby’s brain is working oertime time these days, developing faster than ever. Connections between individual nerve cells are growing at a frenetic clip, and your baby can now perceive information from all five senses. Sure, your baby can’t smell anything right now, but that’s only because he or SHE is submerged in amniotic fluid and needs to be breathing air to get a whiff of anything. Lucky for you- and your baby – yours will be one of the very first scents your baby breathes in, a scent that will quickly become his or HER favorite.

So what’s your little dove doing all day while you’re busy feathering your nest for his or HER arrival? Making faces, hiccupping, swallowing, breathing, pedaling with little hands and feet along your uterine wall, and even sucking his or her thumb. In fact, some babies suck their thumbs so vigorously while in the womb that they’re born with a callus on their thumb (what a little sucker).”

image from flickr: Creative Commons

Pretty cool eh?

Okay, so now that you are fully up to speed on what’s happening to Keelin and my body’s… on to the weekly pic and stats!

*How far along? 30 weeks 2 days today!
*Total weight gain/loss: I think I’ll leave this a mystery until the end… but still healthy!
*How big is baby? “head of lettuce” – 18 inches, around 3.2 lbs
*Maternity clothes? Absolutely… might try and find some “skinny” preggo jeans or thick leggins so I can wear my BOOTS… it’s getting chilly out there!
*Stretch Marks? nope!
*Best moment this week? Hearing Keelin’s heartbeat again and learning that I’m Gestational Diabetes FREE!
*Movement? Tons! I can’t get enough of it!
*Food Cravings? Mac n’ cheese over the weekend 🙂
*What I miss: Nothing in particular
*What I am looking forward to: {update because I almost forgot…} We are taking a tour of labor and delivery tomorrow evening! Excited to see where everything will happen, bombard the nurses with questions, and pre-register for the big day!
*Nausea/Vomiting? nope/nope!
*Labor signs? negative!
*Gender? sweet girl!
*Belly Button in or out? In and STILL stretching… getting quite flat!
*Wedding rings on or off? On
*Sleep? Still doing pretty well in the sleep department. I shift a lot still find but luckily find it pretty easy to fall back to sleep. I’m generally more tired throughout the day though.
*Weekly Wisdom: For all my fellow preggos… the next time you’re stuck in traffic, turn off the radio and have a chit chat with your bun! It can make even the most PACKED-IN traffic seem non-existant!
Until next time…
3 thoughts on “Hump Day Bump Day – HOLY CATFISH, 30 weeks!

  1. Yay, yay, yay for such a great report!! Love that you talk to Keelin while you r driving 🙂 I pray the rosary to help with my occasional rush hour blues – and I pray it for my children AND my grandchild 🙂 who needs a radio ?!

Leave a Reply

