Hump Day Bump Day – 29 weeks!!! – weekend update and PLENTY of pictures!

WHAT AN EXCITING WEEK IT’S BEEN!
I told you yesterday that I would have a full update and here it is… brace yourself, it was jam-packed!
The week itself was pretty mellow, especially after my exciting day-o-glucose but the real fun came on Thursday night after work when Z  and I packed up the car {complete with two very flatulent pups} and headed up to my parents’ house in Virginia! Oddly enough the trip was about an hour longer than it NORMALLY is because of some random traffic at 2:00 am. Totally lame. Once we finally got to the house {around 5:00 am} we immediately crashed in an attempt to brace ourselves for the weekend ahead.
Friday Z and I woke up and got ready for some maternity pictures with my MOH, Layna and her lovely mama. Her mother is in the process of getting her photography business kick started and asked if I wouldn’t mind sitting for some maternity shots to help out her portfolio… UMMM… ABSOLUTELY! The weather was perfect, we had a great time, and hopefully snagged some frame-worthy shots! Layna came prepared with a ton of fun props and ideas…here’s a little sneak peak of our photo-adventure!

please pardon my ridiculous face

The rest of the day was spent relaxing {aka passed out on the window seat in my parent’s kitchen} at the house and gearing up for the DAY 2!
Saturday started with a very successful shopping trip, where I snagged this lovely number:

Motherhood Maternity, how I love thee

to wear to that evening’s big event… A WEDDING!

My dear, dear, DEAR friends Amy and Eric tied the knot in a stunning ceremony on Saturday evening. They are QUITE the special couple and perfectly matched!

reception intro!

Both Amy and Eric are twins, both come from families of 4 children {with an older sibling and a younger sibling on either side of the twins}, and both have been truly amazing friends for years and years. We all grew up in the same neighborhood and amidst swim team practice and late-night flash light tag, everyone used to joke as kids that they would end up married. We actually used to say that BOTH twins would end up getting married  to one another {we always matched Amy’s sister Allison with Eric’s brother Alex, but they each found non-twins to marry!} but at least we got one coupling right!

first dance... her dress was STUNNING

The service was beautiful and the reception was a blast… complete with two of the BEST wedding speeches I have ever heard, given by each of their twin siblings {matron of honor and best man}. I guess when you’ve shared practically every second of the bride and groom’s lives it becomes really easy to talk about them… They made everyone smile with fun facts and harmless jabs and, being that I have listened to my fair share of crappy wedding speeches, I was QUITE impressed!

TWINS BASIL!

So a HUGE congrats to Eric and Amy… you are truly the perfect, crazy, cooky couple! Even if you will forever live in a house divided {HE went to Virginia Tech, SHE went to UVA}, may your marriage be filled with endless amounts of love and laughter!

🙂 I think they've got it covered so far!

We ALL hit the sack after the wedding and my excitement really started to build for the FINAL event of the weekend… DAY 3’s baby shower for Keelin, hosted by my mother and best friend Lindsie!

she's too sweet!

We had a great turn out and it was so wonderful to see have many friends and family turn up to celebrate Keelin. I’ve said it before and I’ll never STOP saying it… she is truly loved! See…

even the cake agrees!

We played the close pin game throughout the shower {each guest starts with two close pins and if someone else hears you say “baby” they can take one of your pins away… the person at the end of the shower with the most pins WINS!} and baby shower bingo {guests make their own bingo card with items they think the mommy-to-be will get as gifts. The first person to get BINGO wins!} which were both tons of fun! Keelin got so many fantastic gifts and everyone was so incredibly wonderful in their generosity and love! Here are a few snapshots from the perfect afternoon!

party prep and my make-shift apron {mom duck taped a towel to my tummy}

yummy grub!

She got so many cute things with little ears!!! I'm obsessed

some of the crowd fillin in their bingo cards!

Gorgeous Leah and Anna

my face is heinous but the elephant night-light is TOO CUTE not to show you!

The mother and twin sister of the previous evening's bride even stopped by! yay for friends!!!

my two besties from college!

It was such an amazing day, and I couldn’t be MORE thankful to everyone who turned up to celebrate our little manatee!
The rest of Sunday was pure veg-city while Monday consisted of a quick visit to Z’s grandparents and the 8 hour drive back home.
Needless to say we were all pooped and are already looking forward to another weekend of PURE REST! But it was all worth it!
*And for those of you who saw yesterday’s post… Buster is doing much better. The vet couldn’t give us a “cause” for the breakout on his belly but said Bostons are prone to allergies and it might have been something as simple as rolling around in different grass than he’s used to. What a wuss, huh!? They gave him a steroid shot and an antihistamine so he’s still kind of red and splotchy but home and much better than before. YAY for the pups feeling better and BOO for outlandish vet bills!
HOLY LONG BLOG POST BATMAN… thanks for sticking through that! Here’s what you were probably expecting from today… BELLY PICS AND STATS!

classic mirror pic for the week

and some bare belly fun, compliments of the hubs... HELLOOO BABY!

*How far along? 29 weeks 2 days today
*Total weight gain/loss: totally healthy :)
*How big is baby? “butternut squash”  – these produce references are kind of ‘out there’ but still cute! 17 in – 3.1 lbs
*Maternity clothes? Yes indeed! Still able to use regular jeans and my Bella Band if I absolutely need to {aka it’s laundry day} but I definitely prefer the maternity pants!
*Stretch Marks? nope… still lathering, lathering, lathering on the lotion!
*Best moment this week? The fun-filled weekend, seeing so many friends and family, and all the love for Keelin!
*Movement? Plenty! LOVE LOVE LOVE all her dance parties and love being able to time them throughout the day!
*Food Cravings? Yesterday I HAD TO HAVE a grilled cheese sandwich and tomato soup… but I think I blame the rainy weather more than the hormones!
*What I miss: REALLY dancing. Caught a glimpse of this last season of SYTYCD as Z and I were clearing out our U-verse recordings and it made me really miss being able to dance full out.
*What I am looking forward to: Next week’s check up!  We’re up to every-other-week visits!
*Nausea/Vomiting? nope!
*Labor signs? no way!
*Gender? Little girl!
*Belly Button in or out? in… still stretching though.
*Wedding rings on or off? On ❤
*Sleep? fairly well. I shift a lot but it’s easy to fall back to sleep. I’m actually quite shocked that I haven’t had to deal with endless potty breaks throughout the night.. usually only one about 2 hours before my alarm goes off. I think limiting my fluid intake before bed has definitely helped but I’m sure even that won’t matter soon!
*Weekly Wisdom: It’s okay to miss your mommy… even if you’re about to become one yourself! It’s been a long time since I’ve gotten choked up leaving my parents but Monday morning I produced an impressive display of big ol’ fat tears for about an hour into the drive. I love really love Georgia, I just wish it were next to Virginia!! Can we make that happen somehow, please?
Thanks again for sitting through my weekend update! You’re a trooper!
Until next time… 
16 thoughts on “Hump Day Bump Day – 29 weeks!!! – weekend update and PLENTY of pictures!

  1. Wow, you sure did have a jam-packed weekend! It sounds like you had a blast though. Your friend’s wedding dress is STUNNING! I absolutely love your baby bump. So cute!! You look fantastic. When are you due? I’m due 11/11/11. I am well beyond the stage of cute baby bump, and I am looking more and more like a blimp every day. I am jealous of your cute bump! Aren’t baby showers fun? We played the clothes pin game at mine too! I absolutely adore that elephant night light. So cute! You must like elephants too? I am obsessed! I have been since I was a little girl. You should see my baby’s closet! It is filled with elephant-print outfits. 🙂

    • I have a friend from high school who is due 11/11/11 also! Too funny! I’m due 12.26.11… Merry Christmas!
      I recently developed my obsession and love for elephants (tell me you’ve read Water for Elephants) and it’s actually the nursery theme! I wanted to do subtle color over a bright pink room so elephants became the factor that tied everything together!
      Her closet is SO FULL of elephants!!!

  2. …and mommies are never too old too miss their little girls…no matter how old they are. What a great weekend we had! December will be here before you know it….and so will little Keelin but you keep her tucked up and safe and warm until I can get there! Love you!

  3. What a great blog, girl! AND…aside from my daughter-in-law, you’ve got to be one of the cutest expectant moms I’ve ever seen. Thanks for providing this window into this special time of your life. LOVE IT!!!!

    Mary Jo Dailey

    • Oh… she found a bunch of my old baby dresses and gave them to me for Keelin. They were laid out in a huge box with a photo of me wearing them with I was little. It was beyond sweet. Even included a little red coat that Gamma made. 🙂

Leave a Reply

