Hump Day Bump Day – 24 weeks

Today’s HUMP DAY BUMP DAY is another fairly short and sweet one! While there is plenty to talk about, there’s little time to cover it all.
Z and I are prepping for a quick weekend trip to the Outer Banks for a friend’s wedding. Two friends actually! The bride and groom met at the same theater that Z and I did, just a year later! We are reading scripture in the wedding and are extremely honored to be a part of their day, just not as excited about the 20 hours of driving we’ll be doing to make it happen. Puh.
Yes, thanks to the strategically planned highway system connecting the Outer Banks to the rest of the world, it takes a grand total of 10 hours for us to get there… ONE WAY! I’m just thankful I’m not having to make the drive by myself.
And now for a belly shot!

side close up... scar side

*How far along? 24 weeks 2 days {today}
*Total weight gain/loss: my midwife said I’d gained 5 lbs since my last visit but kept reassuring me that because of my activity level it’s nothing to be worried about!
*How big is baby? Papaya!
*Maternity clothes? Still comfortable in my pre-preggo jeans and bella band. Once I find the time to do a little shopping I’m definitely expanding my pants collection!
*Stretch Marks? nope, lathering on the lotion and belly balm!
*Best moment this week? Our Crash Coarse birthing class on Saturday was amazing! We are going to be using the Bradley Method in the delivery room and our teacher, Cathy, was a great help in making us feel pretty prepared… or at least giving us the tools we need to be fully prepared come Dday! Cathy also gave me a CD filled with tips and tricks for establishing a delivery plan, sneaking healthy foods into everyday snacking and MORE. Plus, a diet tracker that has helped me feel much more at ease about the nourishment that Keelin is getting. Another great moment was my check up yesterday. Diane {my midwife} said I’m measuring at about 22 weeks which puts me a little behind, but it’s nothing she or I needs to worry about at this point. Keelin’s heartbeat was  strong and steady and continues to be one of my favorite moments of each month! Diane was trying to feel our her position but said my stomach muscles were too strong for her to tell. {I am woman, hear me roar!!!} They also gave me a lovely {and BRIGHT} orange jug-o-juice for my glucose test at my next appointment in 4 weeks. Should be interesting!
*Movement? Plenty! Takes my breath away each time!
*Food Cravings? Meat. Strange, I know. But at least 4-5 days out of the past week I was aching for a burger!
*What I miss: I still keep waking up to myself trying to sleep on my back or stomach. Ah, those were the days
*What I am looking forward to: Wedding weekend! I just hope I can survive the drive AND find a dress!
*Nausea/Vomiting? nope!
*Labor signs? absolutely not.
*Gender? little girl!
*Belly Button in or out? In and stretching.
*Wedding rings on or off? On, still loose
*Sleep? Great! My trick of cutting back on my water intake just before bed has helped with the frequent toilet trips. Although I’m sure soon enough they’ll be inevitable.
*Weekly Wisdom: Don’t knock it until you try it {or at least do your research on it}. I used to be really skeptical of “all-natural-childbirth” but after taking our class and learning about the Bradley Method I’m really excited for the experience. I just pray that everything goes smoothly from here on out and I’m able to give it a shot!
Until next time…
2 thoughts on “Hump Day Bump Day – 24 weeks

    • Aw, thanks sweetheart! Yes, my favorite sleeping position is always flat on my back with my arms and legs splayed all over the place so it’s been QUITE an adjustment. Can’t wait for your next update!!!

Leave a Reply

