Easy and delicious breakfast casserole

I absolutely love this recipe and make it as often as I can. I made it for our house guests this weekend and it was a huge success, as always. It’s my grandmother’s breakfast casserole recipe!
You’ll need:
  • 1 lb ground sausage {I used Italian turkey sausage this time and was told by my friend Kevin that it was the “best yet”.}
  • 2 slices of break {whole wheat for a little extra health, white if you want}
  • 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp dried mustard
  • 6 eggs

The recipe feeds about 6-8 people and it’s really simple to double for larger crowds.


brown the sausage
drain and let cool
slice bread into small squares, about 1/2 inch thick.
Layer your baking dish with sausage, bread, and cheese
Mix 6 eggs, salt, and mustard
Pour egg mixture over sausage, bread and cheese.
Egg soup anyone? Bake in a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes. Blot off any extra grease and enjoy!
Never fails!
I’m sure you could add cooked mushrooms, peppers and onions if you’d like. If you try something different let me know how it goes!
Until next time…
Do you have any simple family recipes that never fail to make happy bellies?
7 thoughts on “Easy and delicious breakfast casserole

  1. I make breakfast casseroles on the reg since coming across a recipe for one from The Neelys (don't judge me) and I LOVE the versatility of this dish; it's also a great way to sneak in some veggies (helpful in the summer when it seems like everyone has a garden and there's veggies a-plenty); My favorite is to cook down TONS of spinach and toss it in–I love spinach, but the other members of my dining table do not and even they love it in this dish. ALSO, I have found that mixing all the ingredients together EXCEPT the bread (use that as your base)and then pouring it over your bread, helps to make a nice crust–experiment with different kinds of bread too! I like pumpernickel the best!

Leave a Reply

