Tasty and Simple Pork Stir Fry

Do you ever find yourself staring into the frig/pantry with no idea what you should have for dinner, hoping for a spark of inspiration to hit you? That was me the other night.
I normally like to have some sort of a plan for weekday dinners but that night I was at a complete loss of inspiration. It’s not like I didn’t have anything to choose from, I did. My problem was trying to decide what to do with the things I had.
So… I took a gamble. 
I grabbed these…

and some of this… {pork chops}

and some brown sugar and sesame seeds. At this point I was thinking something along the lines of, “here goes nothing!” while still remembering that there is a Little Caesar’s Pizza about 2 minutes from our home in case something goes terribly wrong.
It didn’t go terribly wrong and, in fact, was DELICIOUS. Here’s what I did!


Rinse, dry,seed and choppy-chop your peppers like so…

Put 1/2 of a medium onion and about 6 garlic cloves in a food processor and blend. {Garlic amount can vary depending on taste… I love the stuff!}
Also blend about 3 tablespoons of Dijon mustard and 4 tablespoons of brown sugar. {I didn’t actually measure these two but you can judge it on your personal taste.}
Slice pork chops into inch-thick cubes and place in large bowl. Add onion/garlic mixture and mustard/brown sugar mixture. Then combine.

Pour pork mix into large skillet and sauté over medium heat with a little extra virgin olive oil until pork is fully cooked. Add sesame seeds {to taste} toward the end of this process. 

While the pork cooks, combine peppers in a separate skillet with EVOO and Tariyaki sauce until your house smells like stir fry heaven and peppers are soft and golden. 

Cook plain white rice and stand back to admire your stove-top masterpiece. 

Plate {or bowl} it up, add an additional splash of Teriyaki and enjoy!

Yummy yum yum!
This was one instance where I wasn’t hesitant to give myself a pat on the back for spur-of-the-moment culinary skills!

Until next time…
Yesterday’s post was all about the upcoming Water For Elephants film and today {during my morning IMDB check} THERE WAS A NEW TRAILER POSTED! Enjoy!
3 thoughts on “Tasty and Simple Pork Stir Fry

  1. "Do you ever find yourself staring into the frig/pantry with no idea what you should have for dinner, hoping for a spark of inspiration to hit you?"Yes, but most of the time that happens, I have to settle for mustard and orange juice soup with sandwich pickles.

Leave a Reply

